SCMS conference Chicago

Last week, I was fortunate to be able to attend the annual conference of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies, the biggest conference in the world focusing mainly on film. The conference took place in Chicago, which is worth a visit for its Arts Institute and Frank Lloyd Wright architecture alone. I attended several great presentations, and it was a stimulating experience to engage with so many North-American scholars and scholarly work for the first time in my life (hitherto I had only attended European conferences).

panel chicago

Our panel: Petar Mitric, Julia Hammett-Jamart, myself and Marco Cucco

I was part of one of two panels on co-production policies and practices, organized by the International Coproduction Research Network, a consortium of scholars from around the world working on the policies and practices that shape international coproductions. I gave a presentation on Dutch-Belgian coproduction policies from the 1960s until the 1980s, and the role of a Greater-Dutch cultural ideology in this history.

Hopper's nighthawks

Hopper’s Nighthawks at the Arts Institute

IMG_4541

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Robie House

Leave a comment